Mayor and City Council Members

The City of Pella is governed by a Mayor and six Council Members; two elected by the City as a whole (At Large) and four elected by wards. City Council meetings are held at 6:00 p.m. on the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month in the Public Safety Complex at 614 Main Street.

Helpful Links:

Mayor Don De Waard

Mayor Don DeWaard is currently serving his first term on the City Council. He took office as Mayor in January 2020. 

 He holds a bachelor's degree in accounting from Central College and also earned his CPA certificate in 1984. He spent 13 years in partnership with Jeff Van Maanen in public accounting. In addition, Mayor DeWaard has nine years of experience in the tire business and 15 years of experience in real estate development. Mayor DeWaard also served as an assistant football coach at Central College for a total of 35 years.

Don's current term expires December 31, 2023.

Mark De Jong

Council Member Mark De Jong

Liz Sporrer

Council Member Liz Sporrer

Lynn Branderhorst

Council Member Lynn Branderhorst

Calvin Bandstra

Council Member Calvin Bandstra

Spencer Carlstone

Council Member Carlstone

Dave Hopkins

Council Member Dave Hopkins
Name Ward Term Expires
Email Don DeWaard Mayor December 31, 2023
Email Mark De Jong At Large December 31, 2025
Email Liz Sporrer At Large December 31, 2023
Email Lynn Branderhorst Ward 1 December 31, 2025
Email Calvin Bandstra Ward 2 December 31, 2023
Email Dr. Spencer Carlstone Ward 3 December 31, 2025
Email Dave Hopkins Ward 4 December 31, 2023