Planning & Zoning Commission


  • 7:00 p.m.
  • Fourth Monday of each month (except for May and December)
  • Public Safety Complex at 614 Main Street

View Agendas, Packets, and Minutes

  1. Planning and Zoning

    Physical Address
    825 Broadway Street
    Lower Level of City Hall
    Pella, IA 50219

    Phone: 641.628.0043


Members are appointed by the Mayor, subject to City Council approval, for five-year terms.

NameTerm Expires
Tom JohnsonMay 1, 2022
Mark Groenendyk
May 1, 2023
Kisha JahnerMay 1, 2023
David LandonMay 1, 2023
Teri Vos (Vice Chair)May 1, 2023
Ann VisserMay 1, 2024
Joe Canfield (Chair)May 1, 2025
Cathy HausteinMay 1, 2025
Robin PfalzgrafMay 1, 2025
Julio Chiarella
May 1, 2026
Sarah BuchheitMay 1, 2026


The Planning and Zoning Commission is an 11-member board consisting of seven city members and two members each from Marion and Mahaska Counties. The commission reviews rezoning applications, subdivision plats, site plans, zoning and subdivision code amendments, and recommends approval and amendments for the Comprehensive Plan (PDF).