Community Development Committee


  • 5:30 p.m.
  • Second Wednesday of each month
  • Public Safety Complex at 614 Main Street

View Agendas, Packets, and Minutes


Members are appointed by the Mayor, subject to City Council approval, for three-year terms.

NameTerm ExpiresPhone
Email Caryn Van HemertAugust 1, 2023
Email Jerry Brummel (Chair)August 1, 2023641.780.0354
VacantOctober 3, 2020
Email Patsy CodyAugust 1, 2022641.780.2007
Email Linda GroenendykAugust 1, 2022641.628.6653
Email Bob ZylstraAugust 1, 2021605.660.2946
Email Mike Kiser (Vice-Chair)August 1, 2022641.275.0789
VacantAugust 1, 2021
Email Lowell Olivier-ShawAugust 1, 2021641.780.2817
Email Wayne StienstraAugust 1, 2021641.780.4650
Email Nancy HenryAugust 1, 2023


The Community Development Committee was established in 1978 and is an 11-member board that consists of nine city members and two members from Marion County extraterritorial jurisdiction.


The purpose of the Community Development Committee (CDC) is to preserve and promote the unique charm, atmosphere, quaint and romantic character, natural beauty, and historical aspects of the Pella Business Districts. The CDC reviews design permits and sign permits. The Design Review District Design Manual (PDF) contains the design parameters for architecture and signage and works together with the Design Review Overlay District and signage regulations. Architecture and signage subcommittees exist so minor architectural projects and sign permits can be reviewed quickly usually without having to go to full committee. The design permit application (PDF) lists the major and minor permit types.